down arrowMenu

Dean of Students

2017 Dean of Students Award Recipients

Congratulations to all of the winners of the 2017 Student Leadership Awards!

It is with great honor that the Office of the Dean of Students congratulates the winners of the Lux Service Award, Outstanding Student Leader Award, Servant Leader Award, and Diversity Matters Award. 

The 2017 recipients of the Lux Service Awards are:

Megan Kennedy, a senior psychology and family services double major, with double minors in gerontology and women and gender studies, from Ogden, Iowa. Graduating in December 2017 with a 3.96 GPA, Kennedy has been involved in a number of student organizations, including SABRs as president, Psychology Club as president, Model UN, UNI Proud, and Northern Iowa Feminists.

Kadesha Zimmerman, a senior accounting and management information systems double major from St. Louis, Missouri. Zimmerman was involved on campus as a Pathfinder, peer mentor, president of Empowering Exquisite Culturally Enlightened Leaders (EXCEL), member of Accounting Club, Black Student Union, and Ethnic Student Promoters. 

Micah Zeimetz, a senior social science education major, with an emphasis in American Government, from Pella, Iowa. Graduating in the fall with a 3.98 GPA after student teaching, Zeimetz has made his mark on campus as a resident assistant, senior resident assistant, summer orientation staff member, and co-creator of 'Some Assembly Required' improv group. 

The 2017 recipients of the Outstanding Student Leader Awards are:

Brianne Baylor, Mallory Feeney, Aaron Friel,Madison Gavin, Jill Georgen, Diksha Ojha, and Matthew Klein.

The 2017 recipients of the Servant Leadership Awards are:

Angie Davison, Hunter Flesch, Maddie Grimm, Brooke Howsare, Chris Kennedy, Melanie Majeed, Zubair Naeem, Claire Nichols, and Sarah Rudy. 

The 2017 recipients of the Diversity Matters Awards are:

Juana Hollingsworth and Emily Hummel